top of page
  • Writer's pictureJust Because

Deconstructing Society’s Fashion Persona: Trendy or Timeless?

Written by Nicole Huang

Designed by Kiara Andressa

The fashion aspect of our world is undoubtedly gruelling to navigate around. With such vast options of garbs to choose from, it’s seemingly impossible to keep up with each and every one of ‘em. Let’s save you some time and deconstruct our society’s fashion persona – decide what’s trendy and timeless to bring class and elegance for your wardrobe that would last a lifetime.


Kicking it off (literally), with the one and only – Platform shoes

As a 5’2 myself, I have a lot to say to those who scorn platforms. Even so, there are definitely times where a platform style was thriving for no longer than a month or so.

With that being said, I’ve (sadly) gotten my own share of unfortunate phases with any pair that helps me see the world from an inch higher up.

Doc Martens… timeless. No questions asked. Disagree if you want, but I’m sure your parents have had a pair lying around the dorm room at some point in their college years.

FILA on the other hand, I’d say it was a trend. Sure, their “Disruptor” sneakers may be considered a hot topic back in 2018 – but the ‘bulky’ design did not make the cut to be considered timeless.



Next in our list are sweater vests.

Now I’d be lying if I told you that I’ve never wanted to replace my entire closet with sweater vests.

“What initiated it?” my mom may ask. Emma Chamberlain’s Instagram post on a collar tee, overlaid with a colourful sweater vest — that went absolutely viral. Like other fashion topics, EC’s post definitely was a debut for the sweater vest’s return.

However, we’ll decide on it’s timelessness depending on how you’d style them. Let’s take a step back to outline the basic effect of a fashion trend. Every corner you turn to will have a conspicuous translation of that specific clothing. If you were to go with the crowd and purchase the chequered, black & white, oversized sweater vest, overlaying a white button up long sleeve with it, and pairing a pair of blue jeans, I wouldn’t call it timeless. You can imagine how many of those we’ve seen.

Grandpa-patterned sweater vests would do the trick. Though you can never go wrong with the old gold diamond pattern, I love how every other grandpa vests you thrift can have their own unique pattern. Therefore making it wearable at any given moment since it’s a ‘one of a kind’.


I’m going to save you some time and stop right here. Trust me, deciding on what’s trendy and timeless before you click checkout, will save you tons.

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Layer 1.PNG
JUSTBECAUSEMAG ©2021
bottom of page